Discover Golf : December 2018
What You Need To Know THE CHANGES TO GOLF’S RULES – EFFECTIVE 1/1/2019 FEATURE 8 • The ball must be dropped straight down from knee height. • ‘Knee height’ means the height of your knee when in a standing position. • You do not need to be standing when the ball is dropped. • A drop does not count if the ball touches you or your equipment before hitting the ground. • A drop does count if the ball accidentally hits you or equipment after it has already hit the ground. 1 New dropping height For your relief procedure to be completed, your ball must be dropped so it: • First strikes the ground in the relief area, • AND THEN comes to rest in the relief area. 2 Dropping procedure Ball must land in and come to rest in relief area Q&A on relief areas How big is my relief area (shaded area in the picture)? Your relief area includes any ground that is within one club-length of point R (and that is not nearer the hole than point R). EXCEPT that you get two club-lengths when you are taking relief under the lateral option in either the unplayable ball rule or the penalty area rule. Sometimes under the old Rules I had a relief area to drop in and at other times I had to drop right at the reference point (point R in the picture). Is this the same under the new Rules? There is greater consistency under the new Rules. In every situation under the new Rules you get a full relief area to drop in (except when you’re taking relief by playing again from the tee or taking relief from something on the green.) Where do I play from if I’m taking relief by playing again from the tee or if I’m taking relief from something on the green? When playing again from the tee you can tee your ball up anywhere in the teeing area. When taking relief from something on the green you just place a ball at the nearest point of relief. What does ‘reference point’ (point R in the picture) refer to? The ‘reference point’ is the point from which the size of the relief area is measured. When taking relief from either GUR or from an immovable obstruction your reference point is ‘the nearest point of relief’. When taking ‘stroke-and-distance’ relief your reference point is the spot where the previous stroke was played. When taking relief from a penalty area your reference point is where the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area margin.